Credit: Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

MLB Re-Names AL Reliever Award After Mariano Rivera

Major League Baseball has announced a change in the award it gives for the top reliever in the League. MLB used to honor the top reliever in all of baseball with the “Delivery Man of the Year Award” but instead has opted to give an award to the best reliever in each league; the American League’s version of the award will be named after the recently retired Mariano Rivera, the all time saves leader and the man widely regarded as the best closer in the history of Major League Baseball.

Rivera pitched for the Yankees for 19 seasons, racking up 652 saves and 13 all-start selections in that time as well as helping the Yanks to five World Series titles.

The National League award will be named for Trevor Hoffman, second to Rivera in all time saves. The Award will be voted on by a panel which includes Rivera, Hoffman, Hall of Famers Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Rich “Goose” Gossage, and Bruce Sutter as well as former closers Lee Smith, John Franco and Billy Wagner. Smith, Franco and Wagner are all in the top five in career saves.

New York is well represented in the panel, with Rivera, Gossage, Franco and Wagner all pitching for either the Yankees or Mets at some point in their careers.

Tags: Mariano Rivera New York Yankees

comments powered by Disqus